U of T faculty, staff and students recognized with 2024 Awards of Excellence

The University of Toronto has announced the winners of the 2024 Awards of Excellence, a prestigious program presented annually in collaboration with the U of T Alumni Association (UTAA) to recognize outstanding and inspiring faculty, staff, librarians and students.

“This year’s award recipients join the ranks of our past honourees, building on a great tradition of extraordinary dedication to the university and to society as a whole,” President Meric Gertler said in his address to the winners. “They represent the incredible breadth and depth of excellence found across the university and they are an inspiration to us all.

“To everyone being officially recognized today, you’ve earned the admiration and gratitude of the entire university and you’ve set a tremendous example.”


Vivek Goel Faculty Citizenship Award

University Professor Arthur Ripstein  Faculty of Law and department of philosophy, Faculty of Arts & Science

Ludwik and Estelle Jus Memorial Human Rights Prize – Influential Leader

Professor Mayo Moran – Trinity College and the Faculty of Law

Carolyn Tuohy Impact on Public Policy Award

Professor Gillian Hadfield – Faculty of Law

Northrop Frye Award (Faculty)

Professor Sean Hum – department of electrical and computer engineering, Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering

Northrop Frye Award (Team)

Embedded Ethics Education Initiative  department of computer science, Faculty of Arts & Science

Professor Diane Horton

Professor David Liu

Professor Sheila McIlraith

Assistant Professor Steven Coyne


Northrop Frye Award (Staff)

Academic Advising Training Program (multi-divisional)

Yvette Ali – Victoria University, Faculty of Arts & Science

Kerri Huffman – New College, Faculty of Arts & Science

Svitlana Frunchak – University of Toronto Mississauga

Kimberly Elias-Cartwright – Division of Student Life, Office of the Vice-Provost, Students

Ketri Bennett – Division of Student Life, Office of the Vice-Provost, Students

Heather Kelly – Division of Student Life, Office of the Vice-Provost, Students

Cori Hanson – Faculty of Arts & Science

Andrea McGee – Faculty of Information

Julian Weinrib – Office of the Vice-Provost, Innovations in Undergraduate Education

Allison Scully – Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education

Natasha Jesenak – Woodsworth College, Faculty of Arts & Science

Jen Tigno – University of Toronto Scarborough

Tehmeena Jadoon – University of Toronto Scarborough

Sheri Browne – University of Toronto Mississauga

Jill Matus Award for Excellence in Student Services

Jerome Poon Ting – Faculty of Law

Cecelia Power – Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy

Joan E. Foley Quality of Student Experience Award

Prasanna Balasundaram – Faculty of Law 

Chancellor’s Leadership Award – Emerging Leader

Jessica Silver – University of Toronto Mississauga

Chancellor’s Leadership Award – Distinguished Leader

Nadia Claire Rosemond – University of Toronto Scarborough

Prasanna Balasundaram – Faculty of Law

Chancellor’s Leadership Award – Influential Leader

Drew Gyorke – Division of the Vice-President, Research and Innovation

President’s Excellence Award – Emerging Excellence

Jonathan Vandor – Division of the Vice-President & Provost

President’s Excellence Award – Distinguished Excellence

Sean Caffrey – Faculty of Arts & Science

Sean Suleman – Division of the Vice-President, People Strategy, Equity & Culture

President’s Excellence Award – Influential Excellence

Trevor Cuddy – Temerty Faculty of Medicine


Adel S. Sedra Distinguished Graduate Award

Natasha Sheikhan – Institute of Health Policy, Management & Evaluation, Dalla Lana School of Public Health

UTAA Graduate Scholars

Crizza Ching – Institute of Medical Science, Temerty Faculty of Medicine

Maryam Abisola Owodunni – department of geography & planning, Faculty of Arts & Science

Blue (Georgianna) Lin – department of computer science, Faculty of Arts & Science

John H. Moss Scholarship

Michaela (Micki) Hargitai – department of health and society, University of Toronto Scarborough

UTAA Scholars

Sophia Abolore – University College, Faculty of Arts & Science 

Jonathan Angell – Victoria College, Faculty of Arts & Science

Margaret Chen – Victoria College, Faculty of Arts & Science

Vedika Jha  Victoria College, Faculty of Arts & Science

Ludwik and Estelle Jus Memorial Human Rights Prize – Emerging Leader

Foti Vito – Faculty of Law

Shezadi Khushal – Ontario Institute for Studies in Education

See the full list of 2024 Awards of Excellence recipients