composite photo of the three winners
From left: Micah Stickel, Jeremy Lopez and Aarthi Ashok

President's Teaching Award recognizes three exceptional faculty members

For their sustained excellence in teaching and significant contributions in educational leadership, three faculty members have been awarded the President’s Teaching Award – the highest honour for teaching at the University of Toronto.  

“Excellence in teaching is central to the mission of this university – and this year's winners set an inspiring example with their dedication to students, creativity and innovation,” said U of T President Meric Gertler. “On behalf of the university, I congratulate them on their accomplishments and on receiving this important recognition.”

The winners are:

Winners of the President’s Teaching Award receive $10,000 per year for five years to be used towards professional development, and become members of the Teaching Academy. The academy meets regularly to discuss matters relevant to teaching and offers advice to the president and the vice-president and provost, as well as the director of the Centre for Teaching Support & Innovation.