Awards of Excellence 2022

2022 Awards of Excellence recognize members of U of T community

The University of Toronto has announced the winners of the 2022 Awards of Excellence, a prestigious program presented annually in collaboration with the University of Toronto Alumni Association to recognize outstanding faculty, librarians, staff and students.

“This year's honourees represent the incredible breadth and depth of excellence found across our three campuses,” President Meric Gertler said in his address to the winners. “They are being recognized for their dedication to others and to our collective success, as well as for their own outstanding accomplishments.

“To our award winners, you are all doing great work. You make us proud and your example is an inspiration to all of us.”

This year’s winners are:


Vivek Goel Faculty Citizenship Award

Professor Glen A. Jones, department of leadership, adult and higher education, Ontario Institute for Studies in Educations and Professor Robert M. Wright, John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design

Ludwik and Estelle Jus Memorial Human Rights Prize – Influential Leader

Professor Andrea Most, department of English, Faculty of Arts & Science and Professor Ann Lopez, department of leadership, adult and higher education, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education

Carolyn Tuohy Impact on Public Policy Award

Professor Adalsteinn Brown, dean of Dalla Lana School of Public Health

Northrop Frye Faculty Award

Associate Professor Adam Hammond, department of English, Faculty of Arts & Science

Joan E. Foley Quality of Student Experience Award

Associate Professor Matthew Mackay, department of mechanical and industrial engineering, Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering


President’s Excellence Award – Influential Excellence

Fabiano Takashi Rocha, metadata services, U of T Libraries


Jill Matus Excellence in Student Services Award

Shainiya Balachandran, Office of the Dean of Students, Victoria University, and Atifa F. Karim, Division of Student Life, St. George campus

Chancellor’s Leadership Award – Emerging Leader

Cherilyn Nobleza, Division of People Strategy, Equity & Culture

Chancellor’s Leadership Award – Distinguished Leader

Ariana Bradford, Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy

Chancellor’s Leadership Award – Influential Leader

Derek Newton, Innovations & Partnerships Office

President’s Excellence Award – Emerging Excellence

Natasha Christie-Holmes, Emerging and Pandemic Infections Consortium,  Ayoob Ghalami, Office of Environmental Health & Safety and Steffen Reinhart, Office of Student Recruitment

President’s Excellence Award – Distinguished Excellence

Mary Choi, Faculty of Dentistry, Daniella Mallinick, Office of the Vice-Provost, Academic Programs and Kim McLean, Faculty of Arts & Science

President’s Excellence Award – Influential Excellence

Pierre Piché, department of financial services 


Ludwik and Estelle Jus Memorial Human Rights Prize – Emerging Leader

Brenaven Kugamoorthy, Faculty of Kinesiology & Physical Education

Adel S. Sedra Distinguished Graduate Award

Florence Ashley, Joint Centre for Bioethics, Faculty of Law and Dalla Lana School of Public Health

John H. Moss Scholarship

Katherine Todd, U of T Scarborough