Leah cowen, rachel tyndale and norm murray

Three U of T professors elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Three U of T professors have been named fellows of the prestigious American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

The mission of the AAAS, the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science, is “to advance science and serve society.” Fellows – scientists, engineers and innovators – are selected for their distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications through research, teaching, technology or communicating and interpreting science to the public.

“The University of Toronto congratulates Leah Cowen, Norm Murray and Rachel Tyndale for attaining such well-deserved recognition from their peers in the scientific community,” said University Professor Ted Sargent, vice-president research and innovation, and strategic initiatives. 

“Their outstanding contributions to research have amounted to great leaps in the health and science fields, from exploring the astrophysical intricacies of the universe, to genomic discoveries at the molecular level.”  

The new fellows are:

This year’s fellows will be formally announced in the November 2020 issue of Science, and a virtual induction ceremony will be held at the Fellows Forum on February 13, 2021.