U of T Celebrates

The University of Toronto is home to some of the world’s top faculty, students, alumni and staff. U of T Celebrates recognizes their award-winning accomplishments.

group photo of the faculty who won the award
(photo by Diana Tyzsko)

Jackman Scholars-in-Residence professors recognized with Northrop Frye Faculty Award

May 7, 2020

For their work helping undergraduate students contribute to research in humanities and social sciences, faculty members of the Jackman Scholars-in-Residence program have received the Northrop Frye Faculty Award.

The honour is one of the Awards of Excellence presented by the University of Toronto Alumni Association in collaboration with the university.  

In just four years, under the direction of professors Angela Esterhammer, Ira Wells, Robert Gibbs, Alison Keith, Michael Lettieri and Mark Schmuckler, the program has provided 245 students across the university's three campuses with the opportunity to work on faculty-led research. 

Scholars received first-hand experience in methodology, project design, and research ethics, and exposure to research culture, exploring such complex topics as Toronto's diverse linguistic communities, Indigenous cultural heritage, archaeological patterns in the ancient world, declassified Cold War documents and more.

In awarding the honour, the alumni association noted that many students say the program has had profoundly positive long-term impacts, including helping them attend graduate or professional school, where they often continue the scholarly work they began as a Scholar-in-Residence.