Con Hall

U of T faculty, staff, students recognized with 2023 Awards of Excellence

The University of Toronto has announced the winners of the 2023 Awards of Excellence, a prestigious program presented annually in collaboration with the University of Toronto Alumni Association to recognize outstanding faculty, librarians, staff and students.

“This year’s Awards of Excellence showcase the incredible breadth and depth of excellence found across our three campuses. Our recipients stand out for their individual accomplishments, as well as their concern for others and their dedication to our collective success,” President Meric Gertler said in his address to the winners.

“To all our award winners, let me say that you make us proud, and you set a wonderful example for all of us.”

This year’s winners are:


Vivek Goel Faculty Citizenship Award

Joseph Desloges, professor, department of physical and environmental sciences, U of T Scarborough

Dickson Eyoh, associate professor, acting principal of New College, Faculty of Arts & Science

Ludwik and Estelle Jus Memorial Human Rights Prize – Influential Leader

Sophia Moreau, professor, Faculty of Law

Cheryl Suzack, associate professor, department of English, Faculty of Arts & Science

Carolyn Tuohy Impact on Public Policy Award

Ito Peng, professor, department of Sociology, Faculty of Arts & Science

Northrop Frye Faculty Award

Ariel Chan, professor, department of chemical engineering and applied chemistry, Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering

Northrop Frye Award (Team)

Curriculum Steering Committee, department of political science, Faculty of Arts & Science

Associate Professor Jonathan Craft, Associate Professor Dickson Eyoh, Professor Lilach Gilady, Professor Antoinette Handley, Associate Professor Ruth Marshall, Associate Professor Kanta Murali, Professor Robert C. Vipond, Professor Melissa Williams



Jill Matus Excellence in Student Services Award

Nalayini Balasubramaniam, Faculty of Music

Cristina Peter, Academic Success, Division of Student Life, St. George campus

Northrop Frye Award

Timothy Neufeldt, Faculty of Music

Chancellor’s Leadership Award

Chancellor’s Leadership Award – Emerging Leader

Heather Hines, director of office, Office of the Vice-President & Principal, U of T Mississauga

Lachmi Singh, director, equity, diversity and inclusion, and director, education programs and administrative services, Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy

Chancellor’s Leadership Award – Distinguished Leader

Peter Hurley, chief administrative officer, department of physics, Faculty of Arts & Science

Chancellor’s Leadership Award – Influential Leader

Ron Saporta, chief operating officer, Property Services & Sustainability, Operations & Real Estate Partnerships 

President’s Excellence Award

President's Excellence Award - Emerging Excellence

Gloria Zangari Cuneo, director, university family housing, University Operations & Real Estate Partnerships

Nader Boutros, director, human resources, U of T Mississauga

President’s Excellence Award – Distinguished Excellence

Caroline Rabbat, director, high risk, faculty support and mental fealth, Faculty of Arts & Science, and director, Centre for Graduate Mentorship & Supervision

Anuar Rodrigues, executive director of strategy, Office of the Vice-President and Principal, U of T Mississauga

President’s Excellence Award – Influential Excellence

Alex Brat, senior executive director, labour relations, People Strategy, Equity & Culture



Joan E. Foley Quality of Student Experience Award

Yao Yan Huang, department of physical and environmental Sciences, U of T Scarborough

Adel S. Sedra Distinguished Graduate Award

Sara Ahmed, Institute of Biomedical Engineering, Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering and Temerty Faculty of Medicine

John H. Moss Scholarship

Fabiola Astrid Cruz Li, Victoria College, Faculty of Arts & Science

UTAA Graduate Scholars

Jad Sinno, Social and Behavioural Health Sciences, Dalla Lana School of Public Health

Andrea Bowra, Public Health Sciences, Dalla Lana School of Public Health

Lia Huo, Institute of Medical Sciences, Temerty Faculty of Medicine

UTAA Scholars

Andrea Caceres, Woodsworth College, Faculty of Arts & Science

Iakoiehwahtha Patton, Victoria College, Faculty of Arts and Science

Chan-Min Roh, Victoria College, Faculty of Arts & Science

Li Wan, Victoria College, Faculty of Arts & Science