Nine U of T faculty members named to Royal Society of Canada’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists

Nine faculty members at the University of Toronto – experts in political science, education, Indigenous mental health, health policy, cosmology, critical race theory, biomedical engineering and biomedicine – have been appointed to the Royal Society of Canada’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists. 

“These scholars and scientists are making a tremendous impact in their respective fields – transforming our understanding of such significant challenges as infectious diseases, anti-racism in sport or Indigenous mental health,” said Leah Cowen, vice-president, research and innovation, and strategic initiatives at U of T. “The University of Toronto congratulates them on this important recognition.”  

The new college members are:  

Each appointee receives a seven-year membership in the college, which recognizes and supports academic leadership and collaboration among those who have received their PhDs within the last 15 years.