(L-R) Dianne Corbiere, Robert Cunningham and Mayo Moran (supplied images)

U of T Law professor, alumni awarded Law Society Medals

University of Toronto Faculty of Law Professor Mayo Moran and alumni Dianne Corbiere and Robert Cunningham have been awarded Law Society Medals by the Law Society of Ontario.

The awards recognize exceptional contributions and dedication to the legal profession whether in the area of practice, in the academic sphere or another professional capacity.

Moran served as the first female dean of the Faculty of Law from 2006 to 2014, and has served as provost and vice-chancellor of Trinity College since 2014. For more than a decade, she served as chair of the Residential Schools Oversight Committee, which oversaw the settlement of more than 38,000 claims by residential school survivors. She was also instrumental in the development of the Sexual Violence and Harassment Action Plan Act.

“Mayo’s work as a scholar and advocate, and her instrumental role in promoting positive change in institutions, legislation and pressing matters of national and international justice, exemplify her deep commitment to our profession and community,” said University Professor Jutta Brunnée, dean of the Faculty of Law and James Marshall Tory Dean’s Chair.

Corbiere graduated in 1996 and is a managing partner at Nahwegahbow Corbiere, one of Ontario’s first Anishinaabe-owned law firms. As a litigator, her historic impact on case law has resulted in advancements in reconciliation for First Nations individuals, communities and organizations.

Cunningham, who graduated in 1990, is a lawyer and senior policy analyst for the Canadian Cancer Society and an internationally recognized expert in tobacco control. He has been an adviser to the World Health Organization and has testified more than 80 times before federal, provincial and territorial legislative committees.

“As dean, it is tremendously gratifying to see U of T Law alumni emerge as dedicated, passionate, and exceptional leaders within the legal profession and our wider community,” Brunnée said. “We are thrilled that Dianne and Robert’s remarkable contributions have received this well-deserved recognition.”

Read the Faculty of Law story about Mayo Moran

Read the Faculty of Law story about Dianne Corbiere and Robert Cunningham