Top row (from left): Alexie Tcheuyap, Marlene Goldman, Derek van der Kooy; Middle row: Shana Kelley, Mohini Sain, Sharon Straus; Bottom row: Martin Yaffe, Peter Szatmari, Norman W. Murray

Nine U of T professors named Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada

Nine professors from across the University of Toronto have been appointed as Fellows to the Royal Society of Canada – a recognition awarded to the country’s most distinguished scholars, artists and scientists.

“Driven by deep curiosity, creativity and a determination to embrace some of society’s biggest challenges, these extraordinary researchers are having a profound impact across a diverse range of disciplines,” said Professor Leah Cowen, U of T's associate vice-president, research.

“The University of Toronto congratulates them on this important recognition of their leadership and commitment to promoting knowledge and understanding.”

The new Fellows are:

“I'm grateful to receive this recognition for my work,” Murray said. “Of course, it also reflects all the support I've gotten over my career – from my teachers, mentors and colleagues.

“The environment at CITA, the Faculty of Arts & Science and the University of Toronto has been and continues to be conducive to doing world-class research with graduate students and postdoctoral fellows, something I have been able to take full advantage of.”

The new Fellows join 396 members of the U of T community who currently hold the designation.