U of T Celebrates

The University of Toronto is home to some of the world’s top faculty, students, alumni and staff. U of T Celebrates recognizes their award-winning accomplishments.

Cristina Amon, Allison Sekuler and Samra Zafar
From left: Professors Cristina Amon and Allison Sekuler with alumna Samra Zafar (photos by Daniel Ehrenworth, Baycrest and U of T)

Cristina Amon, Allison Sekuler and Samra Zafar among Canada's Most Powerful Women

November 22, 2019

Two University of Toronto professors, a member of U of T’s Governing Council and more than a dozen alumnae have been named to the top 100 list of Canada’s Most Powerful Women for 2019.

Cristina Amon, former dean of the Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering, Allison Sekuler, a professor of psychology, and alumna Samra Zafar, a member of Governing Council are among those recognized. The list, published by The Women’s Executive Network, honours the country’s highest achieving female leaders in the private, public and not-for-profit sectors.

Amon served as dean of U of T Engineering from 2006 to 2019. The first woman to hold the position, Amon increased the presence and leadership of women and other underrepresented groups in science, technology, engineering and math. Sekuler, a status-only professor in the psychology department of the Faculty of Arts & Science, is the vice-president of research and Sandra Rotman Chair in Cognitive Neuroscience at Baycrest Health Sciences. Zafar is an award-winning international speaker, scholar and social entrepreneur who advocates for equity, inclusion, human rights, youth and life after trauma. Her recent memoir, A Good Wife, was named a top-10 read by the Washington Post.

Read the complete list of winners