U of T Celebrates

The University of Toronto is home to some of the world’s top faculty, students, alumni and staff. U of T Celebrates recognizes their award-winning accomplishments.

Ahmed Elahi, Geri Angelova, Zoe Sebastien, Karen Chan
U of T law students Ahmed Elahi, Geri Angelova, Zoe Sebastian and Karen Chen with Supreme Court of Canada Justice Malcolm Rowe (centre).

U of T Law team wins the Wilson Moot

February 26, 2020

University of Toronto law students took first place in the Wilson Moot – a competition created honour the outstanding contributions to Canadian law made by the late Honourable Bertha Wilson. 

Mooting offers students opportunities to practice and improve oral advocacy skills in a simulated appellate court or arbitration, for credit. 

Facing the University of British Columbia in the final round, Karen Chen and Zoë Sebastien argued the appellant’s position before a bench that included Justice Malcolm Rowe of the Supreme Court of Canada, Justice Kathryn Feldman of the Ontario Court of Appeal and Justice John Laskin of the Federal Court of Appeal. 

The team, including Geri Angelova and Ahmed Elahi, was supported by third-year student coaches Sonia Patel, Suhasini Rao, Mariangela Asturi and Eileen Church Carson. They also took first place for their factums, a written brief used in an appeal. 

The Wilson trophy returns to U of T after a trip to Australia with last year’s winners, Bond University.