U of T Celebrates

The University of Toronto is home to some of the world’s top faculty, students, alumni and staff. U of T Celebrates recognizes their award-winning accomplishments.

(L-R) Lewis Kay, Brenda Andrews and Spencer Barrett

Three University Professors elected members of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences

May 14, 2020

Three University of Toronto professors have been elected international members of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

The U.S. National Academy of Sciences is a society of distinguished scientists, which was established by an Act of Congress and signed by American president Abraham Lincoln in 1863. They provide independent and objective advice to the U.S. government on matters related to science and technology.  

Election to the academy represents one of the highest honours awarded to a scientist worldwide and is in recognition of distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Just 26 international researchers received the recognition this year, joining a total of 501 scientists from countries outside the U.S. to hold the honour. 

Each of the three new members from U of T holds the title of University Professor, a distinction that recognizes outstanding scholarly achievement and pre-eminence in a particular field of knowledge. They are: