U of T Celebrates

The University of Toronto is home to some of the world’s top faculty, students, alumni and staff. U of T Celebrates recognizes their award-winning accomplishments.

Photos of J-Philippe Julien, David Evans and Daniel De Carvalho
From left: Jean-Philippe Julien, David Evans and Daniel De Carvalho (photos by Perry King)

Three faculty members appointed to the Royal Society of Canada's college for new scholars

September 10, 2019

Three University of Toronto faculty members have been named to the Royal Society of Canada’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists.

Daniel De Carvalho, Jean-Philippe Julien and David Evans were recognized by the Royal Society for demonstrating a high level of achievement. De Carvalho is an associate professor in the Faculty of Medicine and a senior scientist at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre. Julien is an assistant professor in the Faculty of Medicine and a scientist at the SickKids Research Institute. Evans is an associate professor in the Faculty of Arts & Science who oversees dinosaur research at the Royal Ontario Museum.

“We’re extremely proud of their admission to the college and look forward to seeing their research make an impact in Canada and beyond,” says Vivek Goel, U of T’s vice-president, research and innovation, and strategic initiatives. “U of T congratulates them for this impressive appointment.”

Read the U of T News story