U of T Celebrates

The University of Toronto is home to some of the world’s top faculty, students, alumni and staff. U of T Celebrates recognizes their award-winning accomplishments.

portrait-style photos of Seshu Iyengar (in library) and Joel Goodwin (in front of trees)
Seshu Iyengar and Joel Goodwin (Photos by Perry King)

First-year PhD students from Atlantic provinces receive C. David Naylor University Fellowships

November 10, 2019

Seshu Iyengar and Joel Goodwin, both first-year PhD students from the Maritimes, have been selected as the recipients of the C. David Naylor University Fellowships. 

Established with the support of the Arthur L. Irving Family Foundation, the fellowship, named after University of Toronto President Emeritus David Naylor, awards $30,000 to outstanding students from Atlantic Canada who are entering the first year of a full-time doctoral or doctoral-stream program.

Iyengar, a graduate of the University of New Brunswick, is working on a PhD in physics at U of T Mississauga. His research focuses on biological physics with a view to developing better drugs for cancer treatments, enhancing genetic therapies and improving patient interventions.

Goodwin,a graduate of Acadia University, is pursuing a PhD in the forestry program at the John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design. He is studying the optimization of traps for invasive beetle species, with field research to be conducted in northern Ontario and central Louisiana.

Read the U of T News story