U of T news
  • Follow U of T News

Most powerful women of 2013

Judy Goldring, chair of the University of Toronto's Governing Council (photo by Dave Chan)

Bay Street observers have long recognized alumna Judy Goldring as a powerful leader in the business community.

But these days, the chair of the University of Toronto’s Governing Council is celebrating the many U of T women named to the list of Canada’s Top 100 Most Powerful Women for 2013.

“I’m delighted to see that members of the U of T community comprise 16% of this year's Top 100 honourees and I’m particularly pleased that two of these leaders are being honoured in the hall of fame category,” said Goldring, the executive vice-president and chief operating officer of AGF Management Ltd.  “These award-winning women are changing the lives of those in their community and transforming organizations on a global scale.”

Goldring made the list in the category of corporate executives for the second consecutive year, alongside alumna Sharon Ludlow, president and chief executive officer of Swiss Re Canada. Compiled by the Women’s Executive Network (WXN), this year’s list moves two members of the U of T community into its hall of fame category: alumna Mary Ann Turcke, executive vice-president of field operations at Bell Canada and Ilse Treurnicht, chief executive officer of MaRS Discovery District.

U of T entrepreneurs named to the list include alumna Ann Kaplan, president and chief executive officer of iFinance Canada and longtime University advisor and supporter Heather Reisman, chief executive officer and founder of Indigo Books & Music Inc.

The category of professionals included: Rotman School of Management instructor Diane Kazarian; Faculty of Law alumna Lisa Borsook, executive partner at WeirFoulds LLP andTrinity College; and alumnae Lisa Kimmel, general manager at Edelman Toronto and Rosemary McCarney, president and chief executive officer Plan International Canada.

Public sector leaders included: alumna and honorary graduate Anne Sado, president of George Brown College; alumna Joan Sproul, executive vice-president, corporate and chief financial officer at Mount Sinai Hospital; and alumna Leslee Thompson, president and chief executive officer of Kingston General Hospital.

“It is wonderful to see fellow alumnae giving back to their communities in numerous ways,” Goldring said. “They are demonstrating the impact one individual can make.”

Alison Loat, an instructor and fellow at U of T’s School of Public Policy & Governance and the co-founder and executive director of the non-profit Samara, made the roster under the category of trailblazers and trendsetters. Alumna Susan Allen, partner of audit and assurance at PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, was named to the category of champions. And Woodsworth College alumna Ana Lopes, director of Tapscott Group and chair of the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health Foundation was named to the category of Arts & Entertainment.

According to the WXN website, “what Top 100 Award Winners have in common is they are proven achievers who are strong contributors to their organizations, their fields of endeavour and their communities.”

As the chair of U of T’s Governing Council, Goldring has met many student leaders at the undergraduate and graduate level.  She says she’s inspired by their innovation, hard work and determination.

“I’m looking forward to seeing the names of some of these young women on this list one day,” Goldring said. “I highly encourage students throughout the university to take advantage of all the opportunities U of T offers to develop their leadership, build their networks and strive for excellence."