Order of Ontario recognizes University of Toronto community members

Four members of the Faculty of Medicine among those honoured

Members of the University of Toronto community comprise almost one-third of the newest appointments to the Order of Ontario, the highest honour bestowed by the province.

The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario and Chancellor of the Order of Ontario, announced the appointments on Jan. 13. 

“The Order of Ontario recognizes exemplary service of the highest caliber,” said Dowdeswell. This is the 30th anniversary of the Order, which was established to recognize individuals who have demonstrated excellence and achievement in any field benefiting the people of Ontario or anywhere in the world.

Among those honoured are such distinguished alumni as: former Ontario cabinet minister Mary Anne Chambers; community leader Beverley Gordon; former apellate court judge Stephen T. Goudge and philanthropist Gordon Cressy.

Four members of the Faculty of Medicine are also being appointed to the Order.

“It is heartening to see these distinguished members of our community recognized with the Order of Ontario,” said U of T Medicine Dean Trevor Young. “Through their dedicated efforts here at home and around the world, they have improved health and ensured Ontario’s strength and compassion are known globally.”

Professor Robert Fowler of the department of medicine and a critical care physician at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre was honoured for his work as a clinical lead for the World Health Organization during the recent Ebola outbreak in West Africa. He was also cited for the vital role he played in managing the SARS crisis in Toronto in 2003.

Professor Herbert Gaisano of the department of physiology was recognized as one of the world's leading gastroenterologists and for his dedicated work in the fight against diabetes by exploring the complexities of this pervasive illness and advancement of new treatment strategies.

Professor Julian Nedzelski of the department of otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery was cited as a highly respected ear, nose and throat specialist and head and neck surgeon at the Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre. He was a pioneer of cochlear implants in Ontario and played a key role in the formation of the Ontario Cochlear Implantation Program, giving the gift of sound to thousands of people who believed they would never hear again.

Professor Stanley Zlotkin of the departments of nutritional sciences and paediatrics as well as the Dalla Lana School of Public Health, was noted as a respected leader in the medical and research community who has improved the lives of millions of children who live in economically disadvantaged parts of the world and suffer from serious nutritional deficiencies. A nutrition specialist and researcher at The Hospital for Sick Children where Zlotkin is chief of the Centre for Global Child Health, he is also an advisor to UNICEF, other United Nations agencies, civil society organizations and the Canadian government.

The Lieutenant Governor will bestow the honour to the new appointees during an investiture ceremony at Queen's Park on January 20.

The Bulletin Brief logo

Subscribe to The Bulletin Brief