Shuman (Anna) Ye

Meet the first C. David Naylor scholars

In high school they were standout students who somehow found the time to be musicians, athletes, peer tutors and some of the hardest-working volunteers in their communities.

Now, thanks to the C. David Naylor Scholarships, Valerie Chu, Elizabeth Gross, Bhareth Kachroo, Luke KyneImran Ladak, and Shuman (Anna) Ye have brought their talents to the University of Toronto. 

“The effects of this gift will resonate both in the lives of the recipients today, and in the societies and groups of people that they serve tomorrow,” said Ladak. “I would like to use what I learn at the University of Toronto to aid those less fortunate in Canada and around the world.” 

The Trinity College student is one of several scholarship recipients studying life sciences, along with University College’s Chu and St. Michael’s College’s Kyne. Gross is enrolled in the public policy stream of the Margaret MacMillan Trinity One program; Kachroo and Ye are studying engineering. 

The undergraduate scholarships are valued at $20,000 and are believed to be among the top entrance awards in North America. 

“This is a landmark accomplishment, a wise investment in our emerging leaders, and a great milestone in strengthening our ability to attract the best and the brightest from coast to coast,” said President Meric Gertler. “These outstanding students are much sought after by every university on the continent.”

Established by Arthur Scace, Susan Scace, the Henry White Kinnear Foundation and friends and colleagues of U of T’s 15th president, the C. David Naylor Scholarship was inspired by Dr. Naylor’s efforts to support the development of students as leaders in an increasingly global environment. At a reception January 16 at Hart House, students mingled with donors, offering thanks for their support of the program.

“To current President Gertler, we are thankful for the importance which you have placed on undergraduate education and on ensuring that the University catalyzes partnerships within and beyond the Greater Toronto region,” Ladak said. “To past President Naylor, for whom this award is named, we thank you for your many years of service to the University, and we remain grateful to attend an institution that has so thoroughly benefited from your wisdom. 

“We benefit from the insight and foresight of your respective visions and goals for the University of Toronto and its internationally acknowledged role in education, research and outreach.”

The program is open to domestic students entering their first year at U of T and is awarded on the basis of academic merit and leadership excellence. See a photo gallery of the students at the scholarship reception January 16.

“On behalf of the University of Toronto community, I extend congratulations to the inaugural winners of the C. David Naylor Scholarship,” Gertler told the recipients. “We are delighted that you have chosen to pursue your studies at U of T. We wish you well in your academic and co-curricular activities, and we look forward to seeing your excellence and leadership unfold in the years to come.” 

See a photo gallery of the students at the scholarship reception January 16.

The Bulletin Brief logo

Subscribe to The Bulletin Brief