A physician-scientist and president emeritus of the University of Toronto, David Naylor recently chaired the national advisory panel on health care innovation

Canadian Medical Hall of Fame welcomes U of T faculty, alumni to its ranks

David Naylor, Michael Bliss and alumni May Cohen and Gordon Guyatt among this year's inductees

Four of six new inductees to the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame are researchers with University of Toronto connections.

“This is something in which we can all take pride,” said Dr. Trevor Young, dean of the Faculty of Medicine and vice-dean of relations with health care institutions.

“Through a variety of roles, from documenting the early history of medical practice in Canada to opening the door to women in the profession, this year’s honorees have made unique and valuable contributions to the field of medicine.”

portrait-style photo of Michael BlissTwo of the inductees, University Professor Michael Bliss and Professor David Naylor, are members of the U of T faculty.

Bliss (pictured at right) is described by the Hall as “the preeminent medical historian of this era” and is cited for his books on medical history, including The Discovery of Insulin, as well as his work on the 1991-92 strategic plan of the Medical Research Council of Canada.

Dr. Naylor, a former president of U of T and dean of medicine, is the co-author of more than 300 scholarly publications and noted for “visionary contributions to health research, education, administration and policy,” including his leadership of Canada’s response to the SARS epidemic. 

head-shot-style photo of May CohenMay Cohen (pictured at left) graduated at the top of her class at U of T in 1955 when fewer than seven per cent of medical students in Canada were women. She co-founded the first faculty of medicine women’s health office in 1991 at McMaster University.

Gordon Guyatt earned his Bachelor of Science at U of T before obtaining his medical degree at McMaster, the medical faculty of which he joined in 1983. He is cited for his leadership in evidence-based medicine.

Established in 1992 in London, Ontario, the CMHF honours medical great of the present and past. The new laureates, who also include former Canadian Prime Minister Sir Charles Tupper and McGill University AIDS researcher Mark Wainberg, will raise total membership to 119.

The CMHF “celebrates Canadian heroes whose work has advanced health, thereby inspiring the pursuit of careers in the health sciences.” The induction ceremony takes place at McMaster on April 14.

The Bulletin Brief logo

Subscribe to The Bulletin Brief