



University of Toronto Spring Convocation 2021

Virtual Ceremony Program

U of T Welcome Ambassadors

Procession

Land Acknowledgement

Chancellor convenes Convocation

Admission to Degrees in absentia

President's Remarks

Honorary Degree Recognition

Convocation Address to the Class of 2021

Closing Remarks

O Canada

Recession

U of T Divisional Student Ambassadors and Academic Leaders

Scrolling of the names and degrees of the Class of 2021

Chancellor's Procession

Dr. Rose M. PattenChancellor

Professor Meric S. Gertler
President

Ms Claire M.C. Kennedy Chair of the Governing Council

Ms Adanna Chigbo Student Governor

Ms Diana Li Student Governor

Dr. John TuttleUniversity Organist

Credits and Acknowledgements

Convocation Speaker and Honorary Graduate

The Honourable Harry S. LaForme

Honour Song

Ms Wynona Maracle Anishinaabe, Mi'kmaw and Kanien'kehá:ka

U of T Welcome Ambassadors

Hamza Chatila

(St. George)

Ever Imafidon

(UTSC)

Anushka Sokhi

(UTM)

Divisional Student Ambassadors and Academic Leaders

Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering

Chelsea John-Williams | Christopher Yip, Dean

John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design

Zhenxiao Yang | Robert Wright, Dean

Faculty of Arts and Science

Laura Gallo | Melanie Woodin, Dean

Innis College

Francisca Wiafe-Amoako | Charlie Keil, Principal

New College

Rebekah Robinson | Bonnie McElhinny, Principal

St. Michael's College

Adam Da Costa Gomes | David Sylvester, President and Vice-Chancellor University of St. Michael's College

Trinity College

Amanda Oprisan | Mayo Moran, Provost and Vice-Chancellor

University College

Kerry-Ann James | Markus Stock, Principal

Victoria College

Sepi Mortazavi | William Robins, President and Vice-Chancellor Victoria University

Woodsworth College

Natasha Djuric | Carol Chin, Principal

Faculty of Dentistry

Susie Son | Daniel Haas, Dean

Divisional Student Ambassadors and Academic Leaders (cont'd)

Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy

Ruvimbo Chidziva | Cheryl Misak, Interim Director

School of Graduate Studies

Johanna Pokorny | Joshua Barker, Dean

Faculty of Information

Jayra Almanzor | Wendy Duff, Dean

Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education

Natalie Alvares | Ira Jacobs, Dean

Faculty of Law

Robert Nanni | Jutta Brunnée, Dean

Rotman School of Management

Jasmine Patrick | Kenneth Corts, Interim Dean

Temerty Faculty of Medicine

Kennedy Ayoo | Trevor Young, Dean

Faculty of Music

Stephane Martin Demers | Don McLean, Dean

Ontario Institute for Studies in Education

Athena Tassis | Glen Jones, Dean

Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy

Helen Liu | Lisa Dolovich, Dean

Dalla Lana School of Public Health

Roshaneh Jaffer | Adalsteinn Brown, Dean

Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work

Nalian Youmer | Dexter Voisin, Dean

University of Toronto Mississauga

Mueed Fiaz | Alexandra Gillespie, Vice-President and Principal

University of Toronto Scarborough

Obianuju Nwadike | William A. Gough, Vice-Principal Academic and Dean

Music Acknowledgements

We thank the following for their contributions:

Composer | Aaron Tsang (BMus '07, MMus '09), Faculty of Music, composed the soundtrack music in honour of the Class of 2021

UTogether 2021: A Convocation Tribute © 2021 Aaron Tsang

Carillonneur | Roy Lee (JD '04)

Triumphant March from Swinging Suite, by Geert D'hollander (b. 1965),
© 2008 by The Guild of Carillonneurs in North America (www.gcna.org SKU 0079)

This recording is published with permission

All rights reserved

Canada Calls, by Sir Ernest MacMillan (1893-1973), former Dean of the Faculty of Music (1927–1952), transcribed by Roy Lee © 1942 by Gordon V. Thompson Limited

University Organist | John Tuttle

Choirmaster and Director of Music, Trinity College Adjunct Associate Professor of Organ, Faculty of Music

Processional: Trumpet Tune, Henry Purcell

Recessional: Symphonie II, Op. 13, No. 2: Finale, Charles-Marie Widor

O Canada

Composed by Calixa Lavallée (1842–1891) Arranged by John Fenwick (1932–1993), BMus 1954, MMus 1956 Performed by the University of Toronto Symphony Orchestra and the University of Toronto Wind Ensemble

Faculty of Music Personnel

Uri Mayer, Professor, Conductor of UTSO

Gillian MacKay, Professor, Director of the Wind Ensemble

Lorenzo Guggenheim, DMA Candidate, Assistant Conductor, UTSO

Jeff Wolpert, Audio Engineer, Adjunct Professor, Music Technology & Digital Media

Peter Olsen, AV Technician, Walter Hall

Special thanks to:

Don McLean, Dean and Professor, Faculty of Music

Jehanbakhsh (John) R. Jasavala, Director, Artistic Outreach, Faculty of Music

We wish to also thank:

Campus Events

True Blue, Official Mascot of the U of T Varsity Blues

Additional drone footage courtesy of the Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy

The U of T Virtual Convocation Ceremony is a production of:

The Office of Convocation in the Office of the Governing Council

The Offices of the President and the Chancellor

University of Toronto Communications