



University of Toronto Fall Convocation 2020

Virtual Ceremony Program

Welcome from the U of T Welcome Ambassadors

Procession

Chancellor convenes Convocation

Admission to Degrees in absentia

President's Remarks

Convocation Speaker Address to the Class of 2020

Closing Remarks

O Canada

Recession

Congratulations from the U of T Divisional Student Ambassadors and Academic Leaders

Scrolling of the names and degrees of the Class of 2020

Chancellor's Procession

Dr. Rose M. PattenChancellor

Professor Meric S. Gertler
President

Ms. Claire M.C. Kennedy Chair of the Governing Council

Professor Maydianne Andrade

Departments of Biological Sciences and Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Vice-Dean Faculty Affairs, Equity & Success, University of Toronto Scarborough

> Mr. Amin Kamaleddin Student Governor

Ms. Marium VahedStudent Governor

Convocation Speaker Professor Maydianne Andrade

Maydianne Andrade earned her Ph.D. in Neurobiology and Behavior at Cornell University and is a Professor in the Department of Biological Sciences at the University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC). Professor Andrade's fundamental research in evolutionary ecology has a primary focus on the evolution of behaviour and species diversity using black widow spiders as models. Her research expertise has been recognized with a Canada Research Chair in Integrative Behavioural Ecology, election to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, and numerous other awards. Professor Andrade values engagement with audiences outside of the academy, most recently by serving as guest host of *The Nature of Things* documentary *First Animals*, and podcasting about life during the pandemic (*The New Normal*). As Vice-Dean Faculty Affairs, Equity & Success, and as founder and co-Chair of the Toronto Initiative for Diversity & Excellence (TIDE), she works to promote the hiring, retention and success of a diverse and inclusive faculty, and to initiate conversations about equity across the University of Toronto. Her work in these areas has generated important conversations and actions across the University and beyond, and led to her being awarded the Ludwik and Estelle Jus Memorial Human Rights Prize from the University of Toronto Alumni Association.

Credits and Acknowledgements

U of T Welcome Ambassadors

Charesma Jaidev Biaspal (UTSC)

Mahera Islam (UTM)

Alexander Lawson (St. George)

Divisional Student Ambassadors and Academic Leaders

Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering

Keziah Nongo | Christopher Yip, Dean

John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design

Lauren Shiga | Robert Wright, Interim Dean

Faculty of Arts and Science

Ikran Jama | Melanie Woodin, Dean

Innis College

Linda Luarasi | Charlie Keil, Principal

New College

Lucy Zuo | Bonnie McElhinny, Principal

St. Michael's College

Cianna Choo | David Sylvester, President and Vice-Chancellor University of St. Michael's College

Trinity College

Piya Sial | Mayo Moran, Provost and Vice-Chancellor

University College

Ruth Masuka | Markus Stock, Principal

Victoria College

Catherine Clarke | William Robins, President, Victoria University

Woodsworth College

Andrew Gallant | Carol Chin, Principal

Faculty of Dentistry

Caithlin Williams Beecher | Ernest Lam, Associate Dean, Graduate Education

Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy

Anowa Quarcoo | Shiri Breznitz, Director, Master of Global Affairs Program

Divisional Student Ambassadors and Academic Leaders (cont'd)

School of Graduate Studies

Amalia Gil | Charmaine Williams, Vice-Dean, Students

Faculty of Information

Christina Sam | Wendy Duff, Dean

Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education

Roxy O'Rourke | Ira Jacobs, Dean

Faculty of Law

Hyunju Park | Malcolm Thorburn, Associate Dean, Graduate Program

Joseph L. Rotman School of Management

Zainab Hamid | Susan Christoffersen, Vice-Dean, Undergraduate & Specialized Programs

Temerty Faculty of Medicine

Laurin Black | Lynn Wilson, Vice-Dean, Clinical and Faculty Affairs

Faculty of Music

Breanne Dharmai | Don McLean, Dean

Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing

Meagan Noble | Linda Johnston, Dean

Ontario Institute for Studies in Education

Entisar Yusuf | Glen Jones, Dean

Leslie L. Dan Faculty of Pharmacy

Navaz Karimian Pour | Lisa Dolovich, Dean

Dalla Lana School of Public Health

Iman Musani | Adalsteinn Brown, Dean

Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work

Jaemar Ivey | Dexter Voisin, Dean

University of Toronto Mississauga

Mahera Islam | Alexandra Gillespie, Vice-President and Principal

University of Toronto Scarborough

Gajathree Ananthathurai | William A. Gough, Vice-Principal Academic and Dean

Music Acknowledgements

We thank the following for their contributions:

Composer | **Aaron Tsang** (BMus '07, MMus '09), Faculty of Music, composed the soundtrack music in honour of the Class of 2020

UTogether 2020: A Convocation Tribute © 2020 Aaron Tsang

Carillonneur | Roy Lee (JD '04)

Triumphant March from Swinging Suite, by Geert D'hollander (b. 1965), © 2008 by The Guild of Carillonneurs in North America (www.gcna.org SKU 0079) This recording is published with permission All rights reserved

Canada Calls, by Sir Ernest MacMillan (1893-1973), former Dean of the Faculty of Music (1927–1952), transcribed by Roy Lee © 1942 by Gordon V. Thompson Limited

University Organist | John Tuttle

Choirmaster and Director of Music, Trinity College Adjunct Associate Professor of Organ, Faculty of Music

Psalm 19 ("The heavens declare the glory of God"), *Benedetto Marcello* Prelude, op. 7, no. 1 in B major, *Marcel Dupré*

O Canada

Composed by Calixa Lavallée (1842–1891) Arranged by John Fenwick (1932–1993), BMus 1954, MMus 1956 Performed by the University of Toronto Symphony Orchestra

Faculty of Music Personnel

Uri Mayer, Professor, Conductor of UTSO

Gillian MacKay, Professor, Director of the Wind Ensemble

Lorenzo Guggenheim, DMA Candidate, Assistant Conductor, UTSO

Jeff Wolpert, Audio Engineer, Adjunct Professor, Music Technology & Digital Media

Peter Olsen, AV Technician, Walter Hall

Music Acknowledgements (cont'd)

Special thanks to:

Don McLean, Dean and Professor, Faculty of MusicJehanbakhsh (John) R. Jasavala, Director, Artistic Outreach, Faculty of Music

