The recipients of the Awards of Excellence. Photo by Gustavo Toledo.
May 5, 2017

2017 Awards of Excellence: the University of Toronto recognizes outstanding faculty and staff

Hannah James

The University, in partnership with the University of Toronto Alumni Association (UTAA) hosted its annual Awards of Excellence on Apr. 27, recognizing staff, faculty and students for their exceptional contribution to the university and their field. Read about all the award winners and take a look at photos from the event

University Chancellor Michael Wilson congratulated the award winners and said he was particularly struck by the impact that the recipients are having not only at U of T but in Canada and globally.

Here are the U of T staff and faculty who have been recognized: 

• The Vivek Goel Faculty Citizenship Award was awarded to Professor Angela Hildyard, who has dedicated years of service to the University in the area of equity and diversity, and Professor Ronald Kluger, who has a long and distinguished career of service to the University as well as an outstanding body of scientific research. Hildyard said that she plans to divide her award money in half; giving it to Indigenous and black graduate students. 

• The Faculty Award went to Professor Elizabeth Edwards (pictured below) and Jay Pratt, vice-dean for research and infrastructure at the Faculty of Arts & Science. 

Photo of Edwards above and all photos below by Hannah James. 

• The Northrop Frye Award, Individual was awarded to Professor Craig Simmons of the department of mechanical & industrial engineering and the Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering for his leadership in developing unique educational and training initiatives.

• The Northrop Frye Award, Departmental went to the Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work’s simulation program. Dean of the Faculty of Social Work Faye Mishna accepted the award, saying the simulation program has been an excellent teaching tool to prepare students for challenging, real work situations. 

• The Ludwik and Estelle Jus Memorial Human Rights Prize went to Professor Lance McCready, of the department of leadership, higher and adult education at OISE, for his work championing marginalized youth.“The prize validates my community’s research activism and advocacy work during the international decade for people of African descent,” said McCready. 

Above: David Brennan, associate professor in the Factor-Inwentash School of Social Work nominated Professor Lance McCready for the Ludwick and Estelle Jus Memorial Human Rights Prize. 

• John E. Foley Quality of Student Experience Award was awarded to Helen Slade, co-ordinator of student progress and support.

• The Jill Matus Excellence in Student Services Award was awarded to Donald Boere, assistant principal and registrar at Innis College, recognized for his commitment to making life better for students. Adam Kuhn, from the Office of Student Life also received the award for making Student Life internships a more comprehensive experience. He is pictured below, joined by colleagues at student life programs and services who have nominated him.

Pictured below, from the right: Samantha Hartlen, Erin Clifford, Adam Kuhn, Josh Hass and Rose Lynn.

• The Chancellor’s Award went to Jonathan Hamilton-Diabo, U of T’s Director, Indigenous Initiatives (pictured below with his family) and Anne MacDonald, Director of Ancillary Services.


Here are the students who received the prestigeous Adel S. Sedra Graduate Award, John H. Moss Scholarship and UTAA scholarships: 

Adel S. Sedra Distinguished Graduate Award
Karan (Josh) Abraham, Faculty of Medicine

John H. Moss Scholarship
Kawin Ethayarajh, Victoria College

UTAA Scholars
Emily Deibert, Victoria College
Sarah Harrison,Trinity College
Zoe Sebastien, Victoria College
Heping (Ann) Sheng, Victoria College

UTAA Graduate Scholars
Patrick Jachrya, Faculty of Medicine
Kristen Pue, department of political science, Faculty of Arts & Science
Patrick Steadman, Faculty of Medicine

Read more about the winners of the 2017 awards of excellence.