The Lionel Gelber Prize

The Blood Telegram Wins the 2014 Lionel Gelber Prize
March 31, 2014 (Toronto and Washington)
Patricia Rubin, President of the Lionel Gelber Prize Board and niece of Lionel Gelber, today announced that the winner of the 2014 Prize is Gary J. Bass for The Blood Telegram: Nixon, Kissinger, and a Forgotten Genocide.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where can I find press release information for the Gelber Prize?

- 2014 Winner Announcement (pdf)

- 2014 Short List Announcement (pdf)

- 2014 Long List Announcement (pdf)

- 2014 Jury Announcement (pdf)

(Requires Acrobat Reader)

Information about previous winners may be found here.

Who has previously won the Lionel Gelber Prize?

The 2013 Lionel Gelber Prize Winner was Chrystia Freeland for her book Plutocrats: The Rise of the New Global Super-Rich and the Fall of Everyone Else.

For a complete list of past winners gohere.

What organizations present the prize?

The Lionel Gelber Prize is presented annually by the Lionel Gelber Foundation in partnership with the Munk School of Global Affairs at the University of Toronto and Foreign Policy magazine..

Who can I contact for more information?

Please feel free to contact the Prize Manager for the the Lionel Gelber Prize at the following:

Telephone: (416) 946-8901
Facsimile: (416) 946-8915

Munk School of Global Affairs
University of Toronto
1 Devonshire Place
Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5S 3K7


Munk School



Gelber Foundation

Back to top