THE UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

Infectious Diseases Research Group

EVENTS | IDRG MEMBERS | LINKS

________________________________________________________________

 

Our diverse research programs of the individual groups at the University of Toronto provides an exciting breadth of focus, with interests ranging from understanding the role of individual virulence determinants in disease to characterization of the host's immune response to infection. The fact that individual groups are spread across several different university departments has lead to the establishment of an inter-departmental "Infectious Diseases Research Group" (IDRG). This 'virtual' research group functions to bring together labs with different expertise, including the microbiologists, immunologists, cell biologists and others interested in studying the processes of infectious disease, irrespective of their physical location on the university campus or in the various affiliated hospitals that are associated with the University of Toronto. The IDRG has three basic functions related to this purpose:

1. Create an informal forum in which IDRG members are brought together on a regular basis to discuss their ongoing work. The IDRG aims to facilitate regular interaction between IDRG members with the highlight being the University of Toronto's Annual "Microbiology and Infectious Diseases Research Day".
2. Disseminate information pertinent to members of the IDRG. We have established a central mailing list through which IDRG members can announce student seminars, upcoming visits/seminars by external speakers, and general news about University, Canadian or other issues relating to infectious diseases.
3. Create a focal point for those considering a visit or those who would like to train at the University of Toronto. Below is a list of IDRG members that includes a brief overview of their research that relates to infectious disease(s), web links and contact information.
   

________________________________________________________________

EVENTS SCHEDULE

May 31, 2006 - Microbiology and Infectious Diseases Research Day

Medical Sciences Building 
1 King's College Circle 
Lectures in the J.J.R. MacLeod Auditorium 
Poster Session in the "Stone Lobby"

 

Please stay tuned...more exciting events to be posted shortly!

      TOP

____________________________________________________________________

ALPHABETICAL INDEX OF IDRG MEMBERS


 

Bayoumi, Ahmed

HIV-related health services research and economic analysis
ahmed.bayoumi@utoronto.ca

Branch, Don

HIV pathogenesis and novel therapies don.branch@utoronto.ca

Brown, Martha

Enteric adenoviruses: structural determinants of tissue tropism
martha.brown@utoronto.ca

Brumell, John H.

Mechanisms of Salmonella pathogenesis
john.brumell@sickkids.ca

Brunton, James L.

Enterohemorrhagic E. coli; Verotoxin; Shiga toxins james.brunton@uhn.on.ca

Cochrane, Alan

Regulation of RNA splicing/transport in HIV infection 
alan.cochrane@utoronto.ca

Cowen, Leah E.

Molecular mechanisms driving the evolution of fungal pathogens 
cowen@wi.mit.edu

Crandall, Ian

Malaria adhesion and drug resistance
ian.crandall@utoronto.ca

Cvitkovitch, Dennis

Biofilms; Streptococcus mutans; genetic competence; acid tolerance
dennis.cvitkovitch@utoronto.ca

de Azavedo, Joyce

Pathogenesis of Group A Streptococcus and Streptococcus iniae; Antimicrobial resistance
jdeazavedo@mtsinai.on.ca

Downey, Gregory

Neutrophil function; Signal transduction; Cell motility
gregory.downey@utoronto.ca

Ellen, Richard P.

Oral treponemes: perturbation of extracellular matrix and cytoskeleton signaling pathways of periodontal cells
richard.ellen@utoronto.ca

Frappier, Lori

Role of EBNA1 in Epstein-Barr virus latent infection 
lori.frappier@utoronto.ca

Girardin, Stephen

The Role of Nod-like Receptors In Innate Immunity  
stephen.girardin@utoronto.ca

Gray-Owen, Scott D.

Host cellular responses to the pathogenic Neisseria
scott.gray.owen@utoronto.ca

Grinstein, Sergio

Phagosome formation and maturation; Mechanisms of phagocytosis
sga@sickkids.on.ca 

Guttman, David

 

Evolution and maintenance of virulence in plant pathogens; Type III secertion
guttman@botany.utoronto.ca

Jones, Nicola

Microbial pathogenesis of Helicobacters
nicola.jones@sickkids.on.ca

Joshi, Sadhna

HIV-1 Gene Therapy
sadhna.joshi.sukhwal@utoronto.ca

Kain, Kevin

Malaria: molecular epidemiology, diagnosis, treatment and vaccine development 
kevin.kain@uhn.on.ca

Kaul, Rupert

Systemic and mucosal immune correlates of HIV sexual transmission
rupert.kaul@utoronto.ca

Liles, W. Conrad

Inflammation, innate immunity, host defense, phagocyte biology, sepsis, organ injury, and emerging infectious diseases
conrad.liles@uhn.on.ca

Lingwood, Cliff

Verotoxin; glycolipid receptor biochemistry & cell biology; heat shock protein-sulfoglycolipid binding
cling@sickids.on.ca

Liu, Jun

Post-genome TB research: An integrated approach 
jun.liu@utoronto.ca

Low, Donald E.

Pathogenesis of infections and virulence mechanisms of Gram positive pathogens 
dlow@mtsinai.on.ca

MacDonald, Kelly S.

Host susceptibility to infectious diseases; Immunobiology of HIV infection
kmacdonald@mtsinai.on.ca

McGavin, Martin J.

Virulence of Staphylococcus aureus; Adhesion mechanisms; Epidemic MRSA 
martin.mcgavin@swchsc.on.ca

McGeer, Allison

Epidemiology of invasive bacterial and influenza infection; Antimicrobial resistance
amcgeer@mtsinai.on.ca

Mogridge, Jeremy

Anthrax toxin: receptor-mediated endocytosis, macrophage intoxication, cytokine regulation, polyvalent inhibitors
jeremy.mogridge@utoronto.ca

Ostrowski, Mario

Immunopathogenesis of HIV infection
m.ostrowski@utoronto.ca

Philpott, Dana

Innate immunity to bacterial infection
dana.philpott@utoronto.ca

Poussier, Philippe

Autoimmune diabetes; Gut-associated immune system; Inflammatory bowel diseases
poussier@oci.utoronto.ca

Remis, Robert S.

Monitoring the HIV epidemic in Ontario
rs.remis@utoronto.ca

Richardson, Susan

Fungal infections in the immunocompromised host and antifungal resistance
susan.richarson@sickkids.on.ca

Rourke, Sean B.

NeuroAIDS, psychosocial, knowledge transfer exchange strategies and health services research in HIV/AIDS
sean.rourke@utoronto

Rowe-Magnus, Dean A.

The role of Super-integrons in the evolution of bacterial pathogens.    
Functional genomics of Vibrio vulnificus: identifying new virulence factors and novel vaccine candidates

dean.rowe-magnus@sri.utoronto.ca

Salit, Irving E.

HPV;Anal Cancer;HIV
Irving.salit@uhn.on.ca

Sherman, Phil

Cellular microbiology
philip.sherman@sickkids.ca

Simor, Andrew

Antimicrobial resistance; infection in the elderly
andrew.simor@sunnybrook.ca

Tellier, Raymond

raymond.tellier@sickkids.on.ca

Walmsley, Sharon

HIV infection, clinical trials 
sharon.walmsley@uhn.on.ca

Watts, Tania

Antigen presentation and T cell activation; Role of CD137 in response to infection 
tania.watts@utoronto.ca


 
 
TOP

___________________________________________________________

IMPORTANT LINKS

 

DEPARTMENT OF BIOCHEMISTRY

DEPARTMENT OF IMMUNOLOGY

DEPARTMENT OF LABORATORY MEDICINE & PATHOBIOLOGY

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL GENETICS AND MICROBIOLOGY

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICINE

DEPARTMENT OF SURGERY

FACULTY OF DENTISTRY

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO 

MOUNT SINAI HOSPITAL MICROBIOLOGY

 

TOP